On the Way to Charlie’s Bunion

That’s the title of my latest quilt. I went hiking a few years ago with my son and his family. We were in Tennessee for my niece’s wedding, and the next day we hit the trail. From the trailhead, it’s about a 4 1/2 mile hike to Charlie’s Bunion, a rock formation on the Appalachian Trail (and another 4 1/2 miles back!). Somewhere along the way, we encountered this old tree, twisted and gnarled from years of weather, so we stopped for a photo-op. It’s been simmering in my mind for a while, and I finally got around to making a quilt based on the photo.
The techinque I used is freezer paper piecing, which is how I make my pictorial quilts. I didn’t take any photos of the quilt in progress. This method is a class that I teach. That’s my son and grandson posing for the camera.

After I got the quilting done on this scraggly pine tree, I thought it needed a little “something extra” so I free motion embroidered some needles on the branches. I don’t normally do much embellishing, but this quilt just called for a little bit.

Tags: ,

4 Responses to “On the Way to Charlie’s Bunion”

  1. Patty Says:

    This is truly a work of art. Great job. I would love to try something like that someday!

  2. Sandy Says:

    What a wonderful way to remember a great day. Your artwork is beautiful.

    I have not heard of freezer paper piecing. I’m sort of out of the loop these days. So, I did a Google and from the tutorials, it looks similar to paper piecing. What are the benefits of using freezer paper over paper piecing?

  3. Cindy Says:

    What a beautiful art quilt. I love the stitching on the pine tree, perfect!

    Happy stitching,
    Cindy

  4. RSjewelrydesigns Says:

    It’s GORGEOUS. It really makes me want to learn how to quilt!

Leave a Reply

